According to Marilyn Manson, Drink has not messed up his life.

Controversial rocker Marilyn Manson has said that alcohol is not to blame for his “screwed up” life, it has been reported.

Speaking to the Daily Mirror, the Antichrist Superstar denied that he has a drink problem, despite the media claiming he takes a glass of absinthe with his breakfast.

He claimed that statistics he read at an Alcoholics Anonymous meeting rule him out from having the illness.

“The definition of an alcoholic is someone who drinks, screws up their life and knows it, but continues doing it. Well I screwed up my life up before I drank,” the singer told the newspaper.

In the interview, Manson adds that he supports his parents financially, as they did not have jobs which gave them good pensions.

He also suggested this support is not always conventional, revealing that he paid for his father to have a lap dance at Fort Lauderdale’s Crazy Horse bar.

A recent Guardian review of the musician’s latest album, The High End of Low, gave it one star out of five and claimed it contains many elements “unfortunately” familiar from his previous efforts.

[Updated to add this little quote, from NZCity]

He added in an interview with Britain’s Daily Mirror newspaper: “I went to one AA meeting and I got asked for an autograph. I got p***ed off. I think you should be able to go in there wearing a mask and say, ‘I’m an alcoholic, I’m anonymous’. That’s a real alcoholic.

“They told me the definition of an alcoholic is someone who drinks, screws up their life and knows it, but continues doing it. Well, I screwed up my life before I drank.”

